Daffodils and birch trees

More experimenting in art class tonight. I took this photo on my run into work and used it for my warm-up:

20130415-221228.jpg

20130415-221253.jpgThe top was the flowers painted first, the bottom the green “negative space” painted first, which our teacher is keen on. The teacher thought it could do with more contrast, so it became as below, although bordering into becoming “muddied”

20130415-221346.jpgThen I wanted to paint some birch trees I’d seen on my weekend run on a Lakeland fell. I really enjoyed working on the negative space to bring these out.

20130415-221520.jpg

20130415-221625.jpg

This entry was posted in Watercolour. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Daffodils and birch trees

  1. Marmotte support says:

    The birch trees are really atmospheric

Leave a Reply

